You Can Take Your ED Voice and Shove It

Hey everyone! Didn’t post yesterday because my Tuesday was just plain boring. Nothing really to report. Exciting news though, I did not skip a post because I binged. I ate perfectly normal yesterday and had a very normal day overall. On to today…

A.M.

I was awake at 7:50am (ouch, way too early) so I could get to the hospital for orientation at 9am. The hospital is very close to me, but I wanted to make sure to get there with plenty of time. At 8:20am I sat down to a bigger than usual bowl of cereal because it needed to last me all morning.

Nature’s Path Optimum Blueberry Cinnamon Cereal & Kashi GoLean Crunch with strawberries, blueberries, slivered almonds, and unsweetened enriched soy milk.

DSCI0005

I was at the hospital from 8:45am to 11:45am, shorter than I anticipated. I went to an orientation, met with the head of the volunteer department, got a TB test, blood work done, and got my picture taken and ID made. I have to go back Friday to get my 1st TB test checked, next Wednesday to get a second one, and then next Friday to get my 2nd TB test checked. I’m cleared to start volunteering on June 20th, finally. 🙂

Early P.M.

As I was heading home I got a text message from my friend Rob asking me to go to the beach. My first thought was, “Oh, but I didn’t go to the gym yet today and I was going to Zumba at 4:30 and if I go to the beach I can’t Zumba and I won’t have time between the beach and go to Anna’s tonight and I’ll probably eat a lot at Anna’s tonight…” And then I realized, I’m letting the ED voice take over. Any normal person would not skip a chance to hang out with a very good friend (who happens to also be leaving the state in TWO WEEKS to go to Argentina until December) because they just HAD to go to the gym. That’s irrational! The gym will be there all summer long, one of my best friends is only here for two more weeks, shouldn’t the choice be obvious? No. Because ED plays tricks on you. It distorts your perception and changes your priorities around. Well, I took a stand against my ED voice and went to the beach with my friend Rob instead of going to the gym, and that was the right decision.

But before I could get to the beach, I needed some fuel. I made an OK salad, not my best.

Salad greens, shredded carrots, roasted red pepper, roasted vegetables, black beans, and sun-dried tomato.

DSCI0009

The roasted vegetables definitely should have been heated longer, they were only room temperature when I ate them.. and I kind of think roasted vegetables are gross unless hot so that automatically took away from the salad. I ate it, and it filled me up, but I wouldn’t want it again.

We spent the afternoon at the beach, where we met up with my cousin and her family who have a beach house down here for two weeks. It was positively beautiful at the beach today. Sunny and very hot, at times almost too hot but then a cloud would come and you would get a much needed break from the sun.

At 5pm we left and headed back home.

Late P.M.

By 6pm I was out the door again, headed to Anna’s house for Art Night. I had a salad, a few blue corn chips, and three roasted vegetable sandwich wedges. This was the best Art Night so far, great crowd, wonderful conversation, lots of laughs. For dessert I had a slice of vegan green tea cake (+ two bites from a friend’s plate) and a scoop of blueberry pie. I could feel the post-sugar binge feeling coming on, so I decided it was time for me to leave the party. I had already spent a very enjoyable three hours there and I didn’t want that to be ruined by a binge or anxiety, so I’m happy I left when I did.

Once I got home I took care of some things on the computer, including finding directions for my trip this weekend AND my trip next weekend! Woohoo! I only snacked on a small handful of Shredded Oats since being home so I think I didn’t pretty well food-wise today ,probably ate the least tonight of all the Art Nights thus far.

I hate to bring this blog post to a close rather rapidly, but my feet are ITCHING (bug bites) and I’m kind of bugging out (no pun intended, I swear… just no better words) over it. Envision a girl frantically scratching her feet and at times hopping out of her chair because she just can’t handle it anymore. Yea, I’m BUGGING. So I think I just need to go to bed and try to not think about the itching and then fall asleep and hope it’s better in the morning. See you tomorrow!!

P.S.

Yay for telling the ED voice to shove it! That’s the main point of today’s post.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “You Can Take Your ED Voice and Shove It

  1. Wow! I’m so proud of you – getting through tonight – and enjoying it – is a huge achievement and you’re right – you definitely told ED to shove it 🙂
    Congratulations and here’s to many more successful nights out!

  2. Wow. I need to take a cue from you. ED and I are pretty tight most of the time, unfortunately.

  3. So proud of you for kicking ED Voice’s bootay!! Go you! And even better, I bet you still got to a burnin’ some cals by playing in the sand! But that is not the point. You did what was best for YOU, had a blast, and got to be with the people you care about most! Oh happy day!

  4. Fantastic post…maybe your ED voice can put a slap down on my ed voice.

  5. lookingforserenity

    Hey I found your site on Peanut Butter & Jenny’s. Look’s like you’ve got a nice blog going here! I just started mine too 😀 But Stay strong girl, you can beat ED!

Leave a comment