Mental Health Vacation

Please excuse my absence recently. I’ve had a tough week. Friday was one month since my dad passed away, and the heavy weight of his death didn’t hit me until about a week ago. Since then, I’ve had a very tough week. I went to therapy on campus Friday, which was a great choice, and I went home this weekend. I was supposed to work a total of 24 hours this weekend, 12-8pm Friday, Saturday, and Sunday (lunch and dinner all three days), but I just couldn’t. I went in on Friday morning and explained my family situation and told them that seeing my mom and taking care of myself was my number one priority. They understood and didn’t get in the way of me leaving.

I’ve come to realize that quitting the job may have been the best thing I’ve done for myself in a long time. I need to be extremely careful to take care of myself this semester. After such a tough winter, this spring could go one of two ways. I could either heal & grow or I could fall hard & fast into past behaviors of isolation, depression, and binging. I have a pretty stressful semester, the last thing I need is to come off of a stressful school week and jump right into a stressful work environment. I’ve juggled work and school for two years now, I think that I deserve a few months break at this very vulnerable time. Focusing on myself and my school work is all I feel like doing right now, so I’m going to honor that.

I’ll be back with more posts in the future. Right now, I’m just working through some personal stuff.

Michelle

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Mental Health Vacation

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you! Take as much time as you need. Believe in yourself!!
    Love, Barbara

  2. Gwen

    You should come home more, when you can afford the time even if it means you have to bring homework home with you. I think it would be great for you and for your mommy πŸ™‚ plus champs puppy-therapy services are available upon request!

  3. I am truly sorry to hear about your Dad and all that you have been going through. I am glad you’re working on taking care of yourself. Don’t worry about quitting your job, taking care of yourself is more important right now. I wish you the best *hugs*

  4. Hey! I started reading your blog recently, and read about your dad and I’m so sorry 😦 take all the time you need and just take care of yourself. you’re amazing xox

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss–I’ll be praying for you and your family in this tough time. Don’t worry about the blog or the job, just take care of yourself and spend some time with your mom πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

