Food Hangover

I officially put in my two weeks at work yesterday! I talked to the new GM (general manager) Pam, who is the highest manager in the restaurant. I explained to her why I was leaving, giving her examples of how I felt singled out, under appreciated, and uncomfortable in the work environment. Some of the things I said shocked her, and she said she completely understood why I would want to leave, but was upset by it. She tried to convince me to just cut down on my hours, but I stood strong. 🙂

I’m already looking for bigger & better things. Today, I’m going with my very good friend Em to meet her boss at a children’s hospital. I’m hoping to get hired in their dietary department, something I desperately need on my resume to make it complete for applying to dietetic internships next year. If I get this job, then the combination of high GPA/ TA/ research assistant/ club executive board positions/hospital employment will make me a highly competitive applicant. Cross your fingers for me that the boss and I will hit it off, and she’ll find room in her department to hire me!!!

Last night’s superbowl party was so much fun! Although I didn’t really know many of the girls, they were all sweethearts and we had such a great time. We didn’t pay much attention to the game (puppy bowl was KILLER though! and the kitty halftime?! adorable), but we enjoyed food, chatting, and commercials. I did, however, stuff myself with food. :-/ I woke up this morning with a rough food hangover. After eating my way through the blizzard and superbowl, I’m looking forward to getting back on track with healthy eating.

In response to the food hangover, I started my day off with a cup of Stomach Ease yogi tea and a yogurt bowl.

The perfect way to kickstart a day of healthier eating.

Did anyone see Undercover Boss last night after the superbowl? I thought it was phenomenal! What a great concept, and it was executed perfectly. I’m really looking forward to next week’s show, hopefully I remember to watch it! I’m so bad at remembering when shows are on.

We’re supposed to get *6-12 more inches of snow* between Tuesday late afternoon and Wednesday. Is it possible that we’ll have class canceled on Wednesday too?! The roads and walkways are still horrible, with another layer of snow coming, it’ll be nearly impossible to travel in this town by car, bus, or foot. What a crazy start to Spring semester.

Now I’m settling in to lunch and a few hours of hanging around before my friend picks me up at 4pm to head to the hospital. Lunch is a veggie burger topped with tomato sauce, reduced fat mozzerella, and a sprinkle of oregano on a toasted whole wheat thin with a side of steamed broccoli. Mmmm smells & tastes delicious.

melted to perfection

Enjoy your Monday,

Michelle

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Food Hangover

  1. eaternotarunner

    Congrats on quitting! And good luck on the new opportunity 🙂

  2. katyainsf

    I’m SO glad to hear that you’re leaving that job! I know you’ll be MUCH happier once you do. 🙂 I remember when I had that same talk with our main manager and brought up all the issues I was dealing with…But reall – YAY! 🙂 And good luck with the hospital – I hope you get it!

Leave a Reply

