No Rest for the Overworked

Gooooooood Morning.

It’s a seriously beautiful morning today, I have no idea how chilly it is outside, but the sun is just glorious. Yesterday was another long day. Recap:

Lunch was quick & easy: garlic herb chicken breast + Sargento’s reduced fat swiss + Smart Balance mayo on a whole wheat sandwich thin with a side of carrots and a fuji apple.

At 2pm I had a meeting across town with my favorite Dietetics professor. I’m going to be her undergraduate TA this semester for one of her classes. I’m so excited! It’s a class of primarily sophomores, with some juniors in there too, so I’ll be TA-ing a class of peers. A little nerve-racking, but I love this professor and I think it’s going to be a really great experience (not to mention, super impressive on a resume).

I spent 45 minutes in her office, then came back home to relax a bit before work. I knew I needed to eat something, so I had some chu-chu-chu-cheetahs (have you noticed all the SnackFace lovin’ lately?! That girl has a killer blog!). I enjoyed my orange discs of heaven with lots of organic ketchup (although my eyes were bigger than my mouth and I didn’t eat all that ketchup, but ya know that I didn’t waste any of the cheetahs.)

I was a little hungry still on the way to work at 4:30, but I decided that I’d just wait until I got a chance to eat at work.

…Bad idea.

I go to work, and it was mayhem. There was some big media-governor-twitter event at the pub that drew in a massive crowd of people. I didn’t work the party, which was fine by me because I was not feeling energetic enough for that, but they were all crowded around right by the kitchen, so whenever I had to run food, it took forever. I ended up hiding out in the kitchen for the majority of the first two hours of my shift to stay away from the masses! I didn’t pick at any food because there were “corporate people” floating around, and the last thing I needed was to get scolded.

I got a table around 6:30, a nice couple, very easy. Then, the owner of the entire chain of pubs sat in my section and I had to serve him!! Talk about STRESSFUL. I did well, but I can’t even tell you how happy I was when they finished their meal and left. I also had a table of regulars who requested me, a table of four men who were really fun (I actually sat down at one point and hung out with them for about ten minutes), and a few members of the band that played last night sat in my section too. The band was really fun, called Modern Bliss. I heard the first part of their set (they did a shout out to me during my favorite song – Sex on Fire by Kings of Leon), they were really good! I finally clocked out at 11pm and said goodbye to the band before they hit the stage again. They wanted to buy me drinks and hang out, but since I’m only 20, I had to decline. What a bummer!!

From 4pm to 11:30pm I had one fry, two potato chips, 1/3 a potato skin dipped in sour cream, and 1/2 an apple. Thank god waitressing is a busy job, this snacking fiend would not be able to last 7 hours on just that usually. But, when I’m running around the restaurant and chatting it up with tables, my stomach forgets to growl. You can bet, though, that when I got back to the apartment at 11:30 I was starving. I quickly changed out of work clothes, into PJs, and made myself a light, late night meal.

Polaner’s all-fruit strawberry jelly (the seedy kind – so goooood) and natural peanut butter on a whole wheat sandwich thin with an orange. Nothing hits the spot after a long shift at work like the smooth, creamy taste of peanut butter.

It didn’t take long to chow down all that, and I considered eating more, but I decided not to. I’m really happy that I’ve gotten better at listening to what my body needs instead of just mindlessly raiding the kitchen. Although I don’t think that I ate enough calories yesterday for how active I was, it makes no sense to stuff myself right before bed. I’m a firm believer than no one day affects your body that much, it’s really your average intake over time. One low calorie day won’t hurt.

Last night my cough was alive and kicking all night long, even with NyQuil in my system. I got barely any sleep last night, it was miserable. I woke up at 8am and felt like a truck had hit me. I hit snooze three or four times and then finally dragged myself out of bed. I’m convinced that by Saturday afternoon I will have absolutely no voice. 😦

When I rolled out of bed I went straight into the bathroom to shower. The hot water helped wake me up, but my stomach was screaming for some food and my throat was begging for some relief. I tossed on some clothing and charged into the kitchen, immediately starting up the tea kettle and getting to work on my breakfast.

That’s the adorable tea box that we have on our kitchen counter. I organized the tea, and can you guess which section is where I keep the Throat Comfort and Breathe Deep teas?! The near empty one, sadly. 😦 I drank my last cup of Throat Comfort this morning. I still have some more Breathe Deeps elsewhere in the kitchen cabinets, but I’m mourning the loss of my favorite cup of tea. I’ll have to restock the next time I make it to the store.

Along with my warm cup o’ happiness, I enjoyed my staple breakfast: chobani 0% plain + thawed frozen mixed berries + kashi goLean & crunch! + 7 almonds. Always satisfying.

My version of Morning Glory

I tried to be all artistic and capture the morning sun hitting the chunky mounds of cereal in the yogurt.

Plan for today? Work. Today will probably be my hardest shift of the week, 12pm-first cut. That means I’m working the lunch and dinner rush. I’m semi-dreading it and trying to tell myself that I’ll survive. After today, I’m over the hump and I’ll only have two more days left. Then I get Sunday all to myself, and Monday classes start. I’m pretty sure I’m going to kick off Spring semester with a fierce cold since I really don’t have much of an opportunity to rest between now and then.

Wish my luck with my day at work! I’ll be high on mucinex, coffee, and cough drops. ;-P

Ciao,

Michelle

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “No Rest for the Overworked

  1. eaternotarunner

    Good luck at work!! Hope you feel better soon :-/

Leave a Reply

