Endless, Exhausting Evening

What a long night, chicas.

Let’s start off with yesterday’s lunch. I had my version of a crack wrap (ala SnackFace): Flat out wrap + 1/2 c black beans + wilted greens + 1 laughing cow wedge + a splash of organic Newman’s Own salsa grilled to perfection in the George Foreman. Laughing cow wedges areΒ  sooo sinfully good when warmed up, it gets all melty and rich tasting. Yum. Along side was the last of my frozen broccoli and a navel orange.

The afternoon was extremely productive. I met up with two girls from the NEDAC executive board at Starbucks. It was great to see the girls again, I missed them so much while I was home. We did some awesome brainstorming, seriously genius ideas were flowing. While working, I sipped on a Tall Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte, for only 90 calories it was the perfect afternoon sweet treat. (It also has 9 grams of protein and 30% of your day’s calcium, which makes it even sweeter.)

Mobile Upload

We spent about an hour in Starbucks, then headed down the street to the university’s Student Centers office. There we talked to this great woman named Darlene about a big display we’re trying to make to promote the National Eating Disorder Awareness Week. We also stood around a computer and designed the executive board’s sweeeeeet sweatshirts. Here’s what the finished product will look like:

NEDAC w/ National Eating Disorder Awareness Committe underneath

NEDA symbol w/ "Until Eating Disorders are History" underneath

All exec's get their positions on their sleeve, this one happens to be mine! πŸ™‚

Thank you customink.com for being the best site!

Needless to say, the three of us girls felt quite accomplished after our successful afternoon. I headed back to my apartment and got there just in time to eat and get ready for work. I needed a pre-work meal that would keep me full for hours but was easy to make since I didn’t have much time on my hands. I ended up making an open face sandwich w/ vegetarian meatballs, peppers & onions (pre chopped & frozen = convenient!), and tomato sauce over toasted double fiber english muffins.

I didn’t really like the mix on top of the english muffin, it would have been better on plain whole wheat bread, but it worked.

On my walk over to work I sipped on a cup of 60 calorie hot cocoa. It kept me warm while I trekked across town in the freezing cold weather, and it kept a smile on my face even though I knew it was going to be a long shift.

I ended up working from 4:45pm to 1:20am. Wow. Luckily from 6pm to 12pm I was busy and the time passed quickly. At midnight I got a chance to finally eat something. I ordered my usual at work: plain grilled chicken breast and steamed broccoli. (Totally forgot the phone camera secret weapon.) The last hour would have dragged more, but I got to work on my closing side work duties early. After putting away a bunch of stuff, cleaning counter tops and tables, and putting all the chairs in the dining room up on top of tables (what a workout!) I was done.Β  When I got back home I walked right past the kitchen and into the bedroom. Last year I used to pig out after long exhausting shifts. Now I know that what feels like hunger is really just my body begging for rest. I skip the binge in favor of more sleep. I didn’t rest my head against my pillow until 2:30am though, and thanks to my nasty cough, I suffered through another restless night.

In case you’re thinking, “Gross, she’s sick and she’s serving food!”, I invested in a travel size hand sanitizer that I kept in my apron all night, I was sanitizing like a mad woman

This morning I woke up feeling like crap-olla from lack of sleep, and an intensely painful throat. After popping in & out of the shower, I made myself a cup of Throat Comfort (aka liquid healing gold) and threw together a rockin’ Chobani bowl. The bowl consisted of 1 container 0% plain chobani, thawed frozen mixed berries, kashi goLean & goLean crunch, and 7 almonds to top it off. This breakfast made me happy πŸ™‚

Just the yogurt and berries before the other add-ins, look at that beautiful color!!

The finished product.

Today’s another busy day. I probably won’t get a chance to post again until very late tonight or tomorrow morning. Yesterday was my first of five shifts in a row at the pub. I’m gonna be exhausted by Sunday! But, I can’t complain when my pockets are getting $fuller$, especially since classes start next week which will cut my hours in at least half.

Have a great Wednesday (hump day!!)

Michelle

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Endless, Exhausting Evening

  1. eaternotarunner

    that is a long shift! hope you feel better soon :-/

  2. Those berries gave the yogurt such an amazing color! πŸ˜€
    I hope your shifts go by quick – i know exactly how exhausting that can get!

    Vera xx
    http://balancingfoodandlife.wordpress.com/

  3. wow you sure do know how to make a delicious looking wrap πŸ™‚ I love when they are grilled.

    i hope you get some rest soon girlie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

