No Catchy Post Title

Hey everyone! Please excuse the post title– I just couldn’t think of anything! And sorry that my blogging has been a little rough this past week, it’s been a hard one. My dad’s still in the hospital and I’ve had some difficulty coping with that, and unfortunately I did a lot of emotional eating this week.

A.M.

This morning I set my alarm from 10 am to go to the gym, but I felt exhausted when my alarm went off and decided that sleep was more important. I wish I had exercised more this week, but at the same time I am happy that I no longer deal with guilt over missing the gym or an obsession with exercising.

I got out of bed at 10:45 and was not hungry for breakfast. The emotional overeating this week led to what felt like a big heavy rock in my stomach. That only promoted more emotional eating, because even if I ate healthy, that heavy rock was in my stomach and I didn’t feel any better, so I felt no point in not eating. It’s gotten better since, but it’s still not completely gone.

Early P.M.

At 12pm I finally went into the kitchen to put together a meal. I made a fajita w/ tempeh, green bell pepper, onion, broccoli, and salsa in a stone-ground whole wheat tortilla.

Delicious

Delicious

I didn’t do anything really productive this afternoon, other than pack for my trip to New York this weekend! Can’t wait to see my girls from school. Summer is too long and I can’t wait till the end of August! Both the girls are vegetarians, so I’ll have no problem eating vegan all weekend, which puts me at ease. The problems from last weekend won’t happen again this time because the vegan thing won’t be so foreign to the people I’m hanging out with.

At 4:30pm I had dinner: grilled tempeh, tomato, and hummus on toasted sprouted grain bread, green grapes, a small pickle, and vegan potato salad. Yumm. The potato salad was from Art Night, made with Vidalia Onion dressing instead of mayo. SO good. The potato salad already had red onion and bell pepper in it but I threw in extra orange bell pepper.

DSCI0006

Late P.M.

Work was boring tonight. I was there from 5pm-9:40pm, not bad. I was able to avoid snacking (aside from eating the equivalents of 1/4 oreo and 1/4 of an individual kit kat stick). Not a biggie. When I got home I ate:

Shredded Oats & Frozen Pineapple

Shredded Oats & Frozen Pineapple

Not pictured: two spoonfuls of peanut butter straight from the jar. I felt pretty good about today, finally kinda reigned in the eating.

I’m a little nervous about tomorrow, I hate driving and HATE driving to new places. I often end up panicing and crying, no lie. It causes insane anxiety. The trip tomorrow seems pretty easy, so hopefully I’ll get there with no problem, but I can mess up even the simplest of directions. Wish me luck! I’ll be posting a wrap up on Sunday!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “No Catchy Post Title

  1. good for you for listening to your body and not getting up just because your alarm went off. It’s ok to have days that are not as productive, especially when you are dealing with so much emotionally with your dad and even yourself! We all deserve a little slack here and there.
    I am going away this weekend too (Canada)! Hope you have a great time with your girls, girls night out/in are always a good way to recop, especially when they understanding your eating habits, so theres no pressure!!!

  2. sara

    hi. i hope you don’t think this is weird, but i had to write to tell you that i know exactly what you are going through and that i definitely feel for you. i have been thinking about you ever since i read this post a couple of days ago because it so remindes me of myself. my dad was sick for my entire life and even longer before i was born. last year was his worst and he spent 8 very long weeks in the hospital. it is so hard to go through this, but know that you are not alone, you have your family and your friends. feel free to email me if you need an outlet. take care.

  3. Jackeline

    How cool, have fun in New York! =D

  4. I love your blog!
    I actually just went through and read all the way back to the beginning.
    I’ve struggled with emotional eating/binge eating also. Its tough, but you have to take it a day at a time, just like you are doing! 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about your dad being in the hospital again. Your poor dad! I can’t even begin to imagine how much stress and worry that puts on you and your family on top of the eating issues you were already dealing with. I think having a loved one be sick is even worse than being sick yourself.

    Be strong and don’t sweat the little stuff!

  5. Samantha

    Are you doing ok?? I miss reading your posts! I hope all is well, and I look forward to hearing how you have been doing. You’re strength inspires me to try & stop my own ED issues.

  6. Tra

    hey ! i’m sorry to hear the bad news. i am inspired by you to stop ED thoughts (anorexia.) adn i totally feel you on being afraid of a pita (it was go lean crunch for me)

    shredded oats..are they like quaker oat squares? those are delish. love the cereal too!

Leave a Reply

