Tempeh and a Tummy Ache

Hi everyone! This weekend definitely tripped me up but I’m trying to get past it, and your wonderful comments made me smile. I love my readers. ❤

A.M.

Got up at 8am so I could hit the gym nice and early to kick start my week in the right direction. I took a 45 minute Zumba class at 8:45am. I had never been to this one before, and I don’t think I plan on going back. The routines were not heart-pounding enough, or fun enough, and the instructor wasn’t really into it. But, it got me out of bed at 8am, so for that I am thankful. After the Zumba class I did 10 minutes walking on the treadmill at a steep incline and then 20 minutes on the elliptical because I spotted a magazine that I wanted to read. I left after that, got a few necessities from the grocery store, and then went home.

DSCI0004

Post-Gym Smoothie: 1/2 banana, frozen mixed berries, brown rice protein, splash of OJ, and water

By the time I got home, my dad and brother were already off to the doctor. When they went into the appointment, the doctor’s office immediately called the hospital to get a room for him. My dad was re-admitted into the hospital at 2pm. He’s now receiving nutrition via IV because he cannot hold onto any nutrients from solid foods, and he’s getting fluids in him from an IV also since the chronic diarrhea leaves him severely dehydrated.

It’s pretty scary that he’s back in the hospital so fast. He was only home for two weeks. I can’t say that I didn’t see it coming though, he lost 15 lbs in the 14 days he was home, dropping down to an all-time low of 148lbs at 6’5″. He was losing his voice, which is always a sign that things are getting bad, and the diarrhea came whether he ate or not. That’s the turning point every time, once the diarrhea is self-producing we know he’s going to the hospital.

It’s upsetting, but it’s the best place for him. He got a private room this time! We’re really happy about that because he always seems to get the worst roommates. My twentieth birthday is tomorrow, and I’ll be spending it at work from 12pm-5pm and then I’ll be heading to the hospital to visit my dad. Maybe not the best or cheeriest birthday, but I can’t complain. My entire family will be together at some point in the day, and with a family like mine I can’t ask for much more. They’re the strongest people I know.

Early P.M.

Back to the foooood. For lunch I had a fajita tempeh salad with grilled stoneground whole wheat tortilla. It’s a blog regular, because it’s that darn good!

DSCI0005

salad greens, blackened tempeh, grilled yellow/orange/red bell peppers and onion, salsa, and guacamole

DSCI0007

Late P.M.

Today I had my first closing shift of the summer, 5pm-11:30pm (I left after midnight). I’m lucky that it’s my first, because no one likes closing, I just wish I could have avoided it even longer! Since I was working 6+ hours I got a break, so I packed my dinner instead of eating before going in. I packed what looked like a really amazing salad: Oriental Tempeh Stir Fry Salad. Here’s what’s in the mix: salad greens, sesame garlic tempeh, steamed broccoli, steamed carrots, steamed sno peas, edamame, kashi pilaf, honey sesame sticks, and ginger sesame dressing.

DSCI0011
DSCI0012

Sadly the dressing was stronger than I remembered and I poured too much on. It basically ruined the salad and I didn’t even end up eating all of it. I was definitely disappointed because I was looking forward to it.

I snacked on candy again at work today. 😦 This sugar thing is really tripping me up. I know sugar leads to binges but I couldn’t stop. So I had a lot of candy at work, came home, had the normal cereal & fruit combo, but then ate cookies too. Ugh, I wasn’t very pleased, and neither was my stomach. I woke up today with a tummy ache.

I’m happy that all my actual meals were really healthy today , I worked out really hard at the gym and that I worked hard at the restaurant. I feel like a lot of that balances the late night sugar. I mentioned it to my mom and she suggested that I may need to go back on my herbal anti-depressant . I have had a couple of only OK days in a row, noticeably different, and that started once I went off the medication. I’m going to give it a couple more days and if things don’t improve I’ll be back on Amoryn, and out of the sun all summer long. 😦 Kinda sucks, but obviously if it comes down to that, my happiness is more important than a tan.

I’ll keep you all posted, of course.


2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tempeh and a Tummy Ache

  1. loveprevails

    Hey hun, I am so sorry to hear about your dad, though I didnt know anything was going on in the first place, it is ALWAYS scary to have something like this happen, even if it’s only after “2 weeks”!! Maybe the extra sugar craves are from the stress of home things. I totally have experienced that myself and only realized it after talking to me therapist about it! But the MAIN reason I am commenting is because your fajita salad looked AMAZING!!! I just last night had regular fajitas, but if i hadnt i totally would be stealing this idea and making them tonight!
    Loveprevails.wordpress.com

  2. First of all, HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY! While it may not be 21, I can tell you that personally, turning 20 hit me like a ton of bricks! You just begin to realize, dang I’m in my twenties!!

    Secondly, you have a lot on your plate right now. It might be summer so you don’t need to be worrying about school and it might just be a restaurant job so it’s no big deal, but hey I know school and my major and my future life are always on the back of my mind and yea it’s just a restaurant job, but it’s still work! AND, on top of that you have all of this going on with your Dad. It is difficult to cope with something like your father being so sick and of course you’re body is going to have some sort of physical reaction; in your case eating sugar. Don’t worry I am the same way! I know that for me, after my boyfriend and I broke up (which is nowhere near as stressful as your situation) my body went into shock and all I wanted was fried foods and sugar even though I have always been a healthy eating, veggie craving salad girl. It is just what our bodies crave to fill the void and deal with the stress created by our situation (and you can’t get mad at yourself for how your body reacts, instead take control). I know your mom suggested going back on your anti-depressants and maybe that is the right thing for you but maybe its not. I know that I got to a certain point a few weeks ago where I just felt like I had no self control over my body and what I was craving, eating, doing, etc. I decided right then and there to go off of both my anti-depressants and birth control and while my body went through a sort of withdrawal for the next couple of weeks, I cannot tell you how happy I am that I made that decision in the end. It just made me feel in control again.

    Anyways, what I guess I am trying to say is do what works for you and listen to your body knowing that your body is under a high amount of stress and might be needing certain things it wouldn’t otherwise be needing. You might not feel “stressed” but trust me, it’s there. Stay strong, you’re doing great!!

Leave a Reply

