Ooey Gooey Goodness

Well, I am happy to report that I have lost track of good days. Wow, I don’t even know the last time I could say that. How exciting! And all of you are a major factor in keeping me on track and motivated!

A.M.

I got up at 8:30am with the hopes of going to Zumba for the third day in a row, but the second I got out of bed I knew that was not going to happen. My legs were killing me this morning. The leg exercises that I did yesterday in combination with the more intense Zumba kicked my butt even more than I knew! So I listened to my body, took a break, and at 9:30 I ate breakfast instead of getting ready for the gym. 🙂

DSCI0001Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes (~3/4 cup) with unsweetened soy milk, 1/2 banana and a handful of raw gogi trail mix (raw pistachios, raw cashews, raw cocoa nibs, goji berries, mulberries, and golden raisins)

Early P.M.

For lunch I tried to make the family tempeh sandwiches but they declined (lame!), so I made myself a tempeh sandwich. Lemon pepper tempeh on a toasted 100 calorie whole wheat bun with mashed avocado and a slice of tomato. I also enjoyed sliced bell pepper, sno peas, a pickle, and 1/4 c grapes with it. So delicious, filling, and healthy. If you don’t do avocado on sandwiches and burgers, you have to try it! You’ll never go back!

DSCI0002

After lunch I went out and did some grocery shopping with my mom (who was off of work for the weekend!). Along with the normal super market trip, we also went to a local farmer’s market and picked up some Jersey Fresh produce. My favorites from the trip: the berries!

DSCI0001

DSCI0002

How good do those look?! I’m pretty excited to dig into them.

When we got home I did a little workbook-ing, but then I spontaneously passed out for an hour! One minute I’m on the couch just kind of curled up on one side with my mom sitting on the other, and the next minute I was in deep sleep. When I woke up I was completely shocked at what time it was (3:45!?! Only 15 minutes till I had to get ready for work). I was exhausted from not sleeping well the night before, so it’s good I got some extra shut eye, but I totally wasn’t planning it, lol.

Before work I had an early dinner, even though I was still pretty full from my amazing lunch. I took the last of my quinoa and black bean salad from Wednesday’s party, added a little extra pepper and tomato to it, and then cut up a square of the Italian Herb Tofu I found in the fridge yesterday.

DSCI0004

Like the beach bowl? I thought it was nice and festive for the 4th of July weekend.

Late P.M.

Work was not as exciting today as it was yesterday. We had four people (as opposed to yesterday’s two) and probably only 2/3 of the orders. Not a good combination. It really dragged. On previous nights, if it was slow, I would sneak candy to beat the boredom. But today, I did a great job of not mindlessly snacking! However, for that reason, I was starting to get pretty darn hungry by the time I left at 10:30pm. When I got home I showered as quickly as possible (because as hungry as I was, staying in those clothes was not appealing to me, and neither was smelling like ice cream for even a minute longer). After I was in my pj’s I made this beauty:

DSCI0006

THE Ooey Gooey Goodness

OK, OK, maybe not the most beautiful picture in the world, but it was beautiful to my taste buds! Clif Z Brownie Bar microwaved for 10 seconds w/ Dark Chocolate Dreams and White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butters and half banana. Sooooo good. I’d been looking forward to it all night, and it did not disappoint. I was really happy that I didn’t snack at all at work, because that made my evening snack even better. If I’d snacked all night I would have been stuffed and suffering from a serious sugar crash, and I would have ended up feeling guilty. I’ll take peanut butter over guilt any day!

Another day has come and gone without a binge. But more importantly, I continue to grow with each day that goes by. Each day gives me renewed hope for the next, and as long as I keep taking the individual steps to feel good, I will eventually make great strides in accepting myself and loving myself.

I hope everyone has a wonderful 4th of July weekend! I don’t have anything special planned for the holiday, but I’ll be spending time with my family which is good enough for me.

Peace, Love, and Peanut Butter, my friends. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ooey Gooey Goodness

  1. hnh1

    I love your blog, especially as someone who is currently trying to overcome binge eating. The possibility of losing track of good days is such a heady thought.

    The quinoa and tofu salad sounds absolutely divine. I may try to replicate that very recipe some time soon! =)

  2. Congrats on the mindful eating! I have struggled with emotional eating for years, and I know how good I feel when I don’t binge. Even if it’s ‘healthy’ food, it still makes you feel like a failure and full of shame and regret. You have a fantastic attitude, and I wish you a lifetime of guilt free eating!

  3. hey girl! just found your blog and i love your honesty and, more importantly, your positivity! keep up the great work, i have no doubt you can and will conquer this!

Leave a Reply

