The First Post

Today was a pretty busy day even though I didn’t have work. It was another rainy, cloudy day. June has just been the most awful weather month. Weird thing is… I’m kind of enjoying it. I love the sound of rain, it’s so beautiful. However, I’m pretty sure that a break from this June gloom would be nice. Maybe July will be better.

A.M.

I started off my morning with a small bowl of cereal. I absolutely love breakfast, but I’m very particular about it. For me, the best breakfast is: whole grain (cereal/oatmeal) + fruit + healthy fat (nuts) + protein (soy milk/protein powder) It fills me up, keeps me going throughout the morning, and it’s the absolute best way for me to kick start a healthy eating day.

This morning’s breakfast combo was: a little less than one cup of Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes with 1/2 banana, Raw Goji Trail Mix, and unsweetened enriched soy milk. The Raw Goji Trail Mix is a mixture of raw cashews, raw pistachios, raw cocoa nibs, mulberries, goji berries, and golden raisins. Delicious.

DSCI0007

DSCI0006

DSCI0005

After breakfast I worked on some blog things (the About This Blog and Nourishment pages), made an appointment with my psychologist, and made some bruschetta for the get-together I was going to later on.

P.M.

At around 1:30pm I got around to eating lunch. I had the most delicious salad. I really love salads, but there has to be something spectacular about them… no plain veggie salads for me! Today’s mix was: romaine, carrots, red & orange bell pepper, red onion, grape tomatoes, cucumber, “croutons”, and tempeh with vegan caesar dressing. The croutons were actually the crumbs from the bottom of a bag of olive oiled & herbed crustinis from Whole Foods. I cubed up some tempeh, tossed it around in a bag with olive oil/salt/pepper/cayenne pepper/coriander and then cooked it over medium-high heat until golden brown. The crunch of the croutons and the little nuggets of flavor from the tempeh were sensational on top of the salad, and the dressing pulled everything together.

DSCI0020

DSCI0030

DSCI0028

After lunch, I ran a few errands, then went to the gym. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical followed by a 5 minute cool-down, and then circuit training: 2 arm machines, 2 back, 3 legs, and 2 ab exercises. When I left the gym it was raining.. again. Already the second time it rained. I ran to my car, and then drove off to the grocery store.

At the grocery store I picked up:

  • Fruit: 3 gala apples, grapes, locally grown blueberries, small container of fruit salad
  • Veggies: onion, bell peppers, broccoli
  • Grains: fresh ciabatta bread, whole grain english muffins, whole wheat Arnold’s Sandwich Thins, and Shredded Oats.
  • Nuts/Seeds: all natural unsalted peanut butter, Dark Chocolate Dreams from Peanut Butter & Co. (I’ve been dieing to try this!)
  • Snacks: bag of mini pretzels, Stacy’s multigrain pita chips
  • Other: Mango sorbet

Next time I’ll try to remember to take a picture of the goods before I pack them away in the kitchen! Once I got out of the grocery store the rain had left, but it was replaced by the absolute grossest, thickest air imaginable.

When I got home I took a quick shower, cut up the ciabatta bread,and then we were off to Art Night with bruschetta and bread in hand. Art Night is a weekly gathering of friends and family at my friend’s house. It’s every Wednesday and it’s a wonderful opportunity to see people, enjoy good food, and laugh.

I didn’t take any pictures of my Art Night food (a little shy of bringing the camera out in public). I had some guacamole with a few blue corn chips, some bruschetta and bread, a big scoop of quinoa and edamame salad, and a wedge of watermelon. After wards I munched on some extra bread and chips as we sat around and talked. Dessert was all vegan ( 🙂 !!!) and amazing! I had a scoop (and a little more) of blueberry cobbler, and 1 & 1/2 vegan cupcakes. Wow. What a delicious night!

But what’s really important is that I didn’t binge. Parties are always a little difficult for me because they tend to set off binges. But I kept things in check tonight. I definitely munched a little more than I needed to… and I probably didn’t need the extra bites of dessert, but I didn’t beat myself up over that! Plus, I usually have a snack in the afternoon and night in addition to my Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. I had no afternoon snack today… so my dinner + munching + dessert probably came pretty close to matching the calories I usually take in between snack + dinner + snack. And if it was a little over? Well who cares. Having a wonderful time with close friends is worth a few extra calories. And one night of indulging each week won’t kill me.

I also didn’t do any grazing once I got into the house, which I was really thrilled about. For some reason, I feel like I’m compelled to scope out the kitchen whenever I come home after being out, whether or not I’m hungry. Instead of doing that, I watched some Sex and the City on TBS and then went to bed.

All in all… a good day. A delicious day. A binge free day. A day spent with wonderful people. A near-perfect day.

What else could I ask for?

-emma k.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

